Creatures of the Night – Halloween 2022

Creatures of the Night - Halloween 2022
Creatures of the Night – Halloween 2022

Through the thick outgrowth of trees,
Beneath the dark sky with cloud,
The wind created a mysterious move,
Absolutely flamboyant as it swished aloud!


Those mysterious pairs of wings, dark and thin –
Flew past me, swiftly with a swing,
Enjoying the game of hide and seek,
And suddenly, flashing in the night sky as a dark fringe!


Camouflaged by the Halloween’s nocturnal sky,
They played in pairs, or may be, more,
‘What nimble creatures are these?’, I wondered,
That frolicked around, while people would mostly snore!


Always I thought of them as sinister beings,
In malefic stories they have always grabbed a place;
They appear after dark, out in the open,
And, before dawn, hide in dismal places, seeking solace.


Awestruck by their spooky but playful flight,
I found their path quite hard to trace,
I felt then I must leave the place (where I was standing)
Or, I shall look, as if, intruding into their space.


They rule the darkness of the night,
No one can challenge their authority;
This is their time, but their reign will last for short,
Till the moment when sun outshines their naïve audacity……

-Dr. Shilpa Chakrabarti
Creatures of the Night – Halloween 2022

Discover more from The Momma Clan

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 responses to “Creatures of the Night – Halloween 2022”

Leave a comment

Welcome to The Momma Clan!


I’m Harshita Udani, founder of The Momma Clan . I am ambitious and passionate about writing and began my Writer’s Stride, to explore an unventured side. Love for reading, inclination to learn languages, and travelling to experience the different cultures of the world is my aspiration. I’m on a discovery of self with my compositions.

Featuring now, quotes by Harshita Udani on Kindle under 2021 – Series -by Drenched Thoughts, part of anthologies like Remember the Roses by The Write Order, Out & Proud by Shubharambh Publications, and more. I’m also an author on Stunning Auto for various articles and blogs. You can follow her on